M. Golf

NCAA D-II National Championships Field Set, Teams Will Begin Play May 20

The Hershey Country Club is hosting the 2013 D-II National Championships.The Hershey Country Club is hosting the 2013 D-II National Championships.

INDIANAPOLIS - The NCAA Division II Men's Golf Committee has announced the complete field of 108 participants that will compete in the 2013 NCAA D-II Men's Golf Championships on May 20-24 at Hershey Country Club (East Course) in Hershey, Pa. The championship meet will be hosted by Millersville University of Pennslyvania.

Among the 108 participants for this year's D-II National Championship are 20 teams and eight individuals from the four super regional tournaments that were concluded on Wednesday. Among the 20 teams going to Hershey is Florida Southern as the 12-time National Champion Moccasins finished tied for third with Columbus State at the South/Southeast Super Regional at Howey-in-the-Hills. At the South/Southeast Super Regional, the Mocs shot 887 as a team for 54 holes to earn one of the seven spots in the national championship field from the South/Southeast Super Regional.

The other five schools from the South/Southeast Super Regional were region champion Nova Southeastern, Barry, Lynn, West Florida and USC-Aiken. Four of the seven schools representing the South/Southeast Super Regional are from the Sunshine State Conference. In addition, 13 of the Top 25 teams in the most recent Golf World/Nike Golf Coaches' Poll advanced to the national championships, including eight of the teams ranked in the Top 10 of the poll that was released on May 2.

FSC, who was tied for fourth in the poll, is one of the 13 ranked teams going to Hershey, the others are No. 1 ranked Nova Southeastern, No. 2 ranked Barry, No. 3 ranked USC-Aiken, who finished seventh at the South/Southeast Super Regional, No. 4 ranked Lynn, No. 6 ranked CSU-Monterey Bay, who won the South Central/West Super Regional in DuPont, Wash., No. 9 ranked Columbus State and No. 10 ranked Western Washington, who finished third at the South Central/West Super Regional. Other teams ranked include No. 11 Grand Canyon, who finished second at the South Central/West Super Regional, No. 12 CSU-Stanislaus, who was fifth at the South Central/West Super Regional, No. 16 West Florida, who finished sixth at the South/Southeast Super Regional, No. 18 Central Oklahoma, who finished second at the Central/Midwest Super Regional in Kenosha, Wis. and No. 23 Missouri-St. Louis, who finished third in the Central/Midwest Super Regional.

The teams and eight individual selections will play three days (54 holes) of stroke play beginning on Monday, May 20. Following the 54 holes of stroke play on Wednesday, May 22, an individual champion will be declared along with finishers 2-10. The top eight teams after 54 holes of play will then be placed into a bracket for match play and seeded based on their 54 hole scores at the championship. Each team in match play will play stroke play for 18 holes and the team with the lowest score wins. Each team match will consist of five points with one point being awarded for each individual match. The four winning teams in the quarterfinals, which is scheduled for Thursday, May 23, will advance to the semifinals and those two semifinal winners, which is scheduled for May 23, will play in a championship final on Friday, May 24. All of the matches will be played to completion and the first team to win three points within the team match will advance, or in the case of the final match, be declared the national champion.

FSC will be paired in the first two rounds of stroke play with Colorado-Colorado Springs (No. 4 seed in the South Central/West Regional) and Bellarmine (No. 4 seed in the Central/Midwest Regional). The teams are scheduled to tee off from the No. 1 tee on the East Course on Monday, May 20 beginning at 12 p.m. and then will tee off from the No. 10 tee at the East Course on Tuesday, May 21 beginning at 7:30 a.m. On the final day of stroke play, tee times will be determine by their team score after the second round. 

The Mocs are making its NCAA record 35th appearance in the NCAA Division II National Championships and its first since 2010 when FSC took home its NCAA record 12th national championship in Noblesville, Ind. Along with winning 12 national titles, the Mocs, who are making its 41st all-time appearance in the NCAA Tournament this season, have also finished as National Runners-up five times (1979, '80, '84, '88 and '01) and have finished third four other times. In addition, the Mocs have had an NCAA record six individuals win overall national champions with the most recent being Steve Sokol in 2001. Jude Eustaquio tied for first at the 2008 National Championships, but lost in a one-hole playoff for the individual national champion. The other Moccasins that have won individual national titles include Tom Gleeton (1979), Tom Patri (1981), Lee Janzen (1986), Matt Saglio (1999) and Jeff Klauk (2000).   

Since becoming the Mocs coach in 1995, Doug Gordin has led the Mocs to 12 appearances in the NCAA D-II National Championships and has won five national titles, finished as national runner-up one time and third two times.

Last season, Nova Southeastern defeated Cal State Chico in match play by a score of 5-0 to take home its first-ever men's golf national championship. Central Oklahoma's Josh Creel shot a 10-under par 206 to claim the individual national title in 2012. The 2012 championships were held at the Cardinal Club Golf Course in Simpsonville, Ky., and hosted by Bellarmine University as part of the Division II Spring Sports Festival.

Listed below are the teams and individuals that have advanced to the 2013 NCAA D-II National Championships:

Atlantic/East Regional
Oglebay Resort; Wheeling, W.V.; hosted by West Liberty University
1. Indiana (Pa.)
2. Wilmington (Del.)
3. California (Pa.) 
1. Robert Coyne, Millersville (Pa.)
2. Sebastian Bendsen, Davis and Elkins

Central/Midwest Regional
The Club at Strawberry Creek; Kenosha, Wis.; hosted by University of Wisconsin-Parkside
1. Central Missouri
2. Central Oklahoma
3. Missouri-St. Louis
4. Bellarmine (Ky.)
5. Southwestern Oklahoma State
1. Chris Cunningham, Grand Valley State
2. Nick Reardon, Ohio Dominican

South/Southeast Regional
Mission Inn Resort; Howey-in-the-Hills, Fla.; hosted by Sunshine State Conference and Central Florida Sports Commission
1. Nova Southeastern
2. Barry
3. Columbus State
4. Florida Southern
5. Lynn
6. West Florida
7. USC-Aiken
1. Nate Gahman, Georgia Southwestern
2. Adam Hedges, Belmont Abbey

South Central/West Regional
The Home Course; DuPont, Wash.; hosted by the Great Northwest Athletic Conference
1. Cal State Monterey Bay
2. Grand Canyon
3. Western Washington
4. Colorado-Colorado Springs
5. Cal State Stanislaus
1. Eric Ash, Sonoma State
2. Dalen Yamauchi, Hawai'i Hilo

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share
M. Golf Related Links
For Mocs sponsorship opportunities, contact Al Green at agreen@flsouthern.edu
or 863-680-4267.
Search FSCMocs.com

Search in .  

Florida Southern College Athletics
111 Lake Hollingsworth Drive
Lakeland, FL 33801-5698
Contact the athletics webmaster

Florida Southern CollegeVarsity S ClubSunshine State ConferenceNCAAAthleticSite.com