Six Moccasins Named to All-SSC Baseball Teams

Six Moccasins Named to All-SSC Baseball Teams

MELBOURNE – Six Moccasins have been named to the 2017 All-Sunshine State Baseball Teams as voted upon by the league head coaches and announced today by the the league office. Florida Southern had five players named to the All-SSC first-team, matching the University of Tampa for most first-team honorees.

Named to the first team from Florida Southern were outfielder Mitch Reeves, and utility player Logan Browning, who were both named to the 2016 All-SSC squad, as well as outfielder Cody Burgess, starting pitcher Jake Walsh, and relief pitcher Cameron Hanes. Selected to the All-SSC second team was catcher Austin Mauer. The five first-team selections is the most for Florida Southern since six Moccasins earn first-team honors in 1999.

Reeves is second in the SSC with 17 homers; fourth with 52 runs batted in and 36 walks; sixth with 127 total bases; eighth with 51 runs scored and a .661 slugging percentage; and ninth with a .466 on-base percentage. His 17 homers (five of which have come in the last five games) is second most in Florida Southern history and his 28 career homer is tied for fourth most for any Moccasin. Reeves is third on the Mocs with a .359 batting average and leads the Mocs with 51 runs scored and 52 RBI.

Browning is tied for first in the league and fourth in the nation with 15 games started; second with 7 wins and 10.32 strikeouts per nine innings; third with 99 strikeouts (second on the Mocs); 13th with a 3.19 strikeout-to-walk ratio. He is 7-2 with a 3.96 ERA, both are second on the team. When not pitching, Browning plays in right field, or at DH, and is ninth in the league with a .380 batting average, which is second on the team. He leads the Mocs with 12 doubles and has driven in 40 runs.

Burgess is ninth in the SSC with 29 walks; fifth with 15 stolen bases; sixth with 13 home runs; seventh with 49 RBI; ninth with 50 runs scored; 10 with 70 base hits and 123 total bases. His .335 batting average is fourth on the team and he is second with 50 runs scored, 49 RBI, and 13 home runs. Burgess leads the teams with 15 stolen bases. 

Hanes leads the league with 10 saves, which is 13th most in the NCAA Division II. He has a 1.44 ERA this season and has struck out 33 batters on 25.0 innings pitched. His 10 saves is fifth most for any Moccasin in a single season and ranks seventh for saves in a career.

Walsh is tied with three others with a NCAA-leading 12 wins (over all Divisions) and is tops in the SSC with a 2.37 ERA and 103 strikeouts; tied for first with 15 games started; and fourth with a 5.15 strikeout-to-walk ratio. The 12 wins is the most for any Moccasin since Brett Tomko posted a 15-2 record in helping lead the 1995 Moccasin squad to a national championship. Walsh is just the 25th pitcher in Moccasin history to record 100 or more strikeouts in a single season.

Mauer is 11th in the SSC with 11 home runs, which is third most on the Moccasins. His batting average of .323 is fifth best on the squad. Mauer has driven in 41 runs and has 102 total bases.

Florida Southern will take a 34-15 record into the NCAA South Region Tournament, May 18-22, in Cleveland, Miss. The fourth-seeded Moccasins will face #5 seeded Valdosta State on Thursday at 8 p.m. ET. The game will be live streamed and live stats will also be available. The rest of the field consists of #1 and host, Delta State; #2 Tampa, #3 Nova Southeastern, #6 West Alabama, and #7 Miles.



Player of the Year – Tyler Curtis, Lynn
Pitcher of the Year – David Lebron, Tampa
Freshman of the Year - Sam Cochrane, Eckerd
Coach of the Year – Joe Urso, Tampa

1B – J.D. Osborne (Tampa)
2B – Jancarlos Cintron (Nova Southeastern)
3B – Tyler Curtis (Lynn)
SS – Kevin Santa (Tampa)
 C  – Chris Corbett (Rollins)
OF – Mitch Reeves (Florida Southern)
OF – Peter Nicoletto (Rollins)
OF – Julian Abreu (Barry)
OF – Cody Burgess (Florida Southern)
DH – Vin Cosenzo (Tampa)
UT – Darren Miller (Tampa)
UT – Logan Browning (Florida Southern)
RP – Cameron Hanes (Florida Southern)
SP – David Lebron (Tampa)
SP – Jake Walsh (Florida Southern)
SP – Brad Case (Rollins)
SP – Andy Marzheuser (Florida Tech)
SP – Matt Hardy (Nova Southeastern)

1B – Jeremy Vasquez (Nova Southeastern)
2B – Nick Conti (Eckerd)
2B – Laz Rivera (Tampa)
2B – Miguel Ceballos (Lynn)
3B – Chase Turner (Saint Leo)
SS – Pat Dorrian (Lynn)
 C  – Austin Mauer (Florida Southern)
OF – Daniel Szpik (Florida Tech)
OF – Kevin Suarez (Nova Southeastern)
OF – Alex Mata (Saint Leo)
OF – Brandon Gomez (Nova Southeastern)
DH – Nick Capra (Florida Tech)
UT – Dylan Harris (Saint Leo)
RP – Caleb Jakes (Rollins)
SP – Ty Cohen (Florida Tech)
SP – Tyler Deel (Florida Tech)
SP – Dillon McCollough (Eckerd)
SP – A.J. Chacon (Rollins)