Walsh Garners Second Pitcher of the Year Honors; Five Mocs Named NCWBA All-South

Walsh Garners Second Pitcher of the Year Honors; Five Mocs Named NCWBA All-South

WEST PALM BEACH, FL - Jake Walsh picked up his second South Region Pitcher of the Year recognition as the junior righthander was so honored by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association on Thursday. Walsh was similarly honored by the Division II Conference Commissioners Association on Thursday. Also named to the NCBWA All-South first team were reliever Cameron Hanes and outfielder Mitch Reeves. Catcher Austin Mauer was voted to the second team while outfielder Cody Burgess was an honorable mention selection. 

Walsh is tied with three others with a NCAA-leading 12 wins (over all Divisions) and is tops in the SSC with a 2.37 ERA; second with 103 strikeouts; and fourth with a 5.15 strikeout-to-walk ratio. The 12 wins is the most for any Moccasin since Brett Tomko posted a 15-2 record in helping lead the 1995 Moccasin squad to a national championship. Walsh was just the 25th pitcher in Moccasin history to record 100 or more strikeouts in a single season.

Hanes leads the Sunshine State Conference with 11 saves, which is 12th most in the NCAA Division II. He has a 1.38 ERA this season and has struck out 35 batters in 26.0 innings pitched. The senior righthander picked up the save in the Mocs' 6-3 win last night over Valdosta State on opening day of the NCAA Division II South Regional in Cleveland, Miss. The 11 saves are tied for fourth most in a single season at Florida Southern and is also tied for fifth on the Moccasin career list.

Reeves is second in the SSC with 17 homers; tied with fourth with 53 runs batted in and 37 walks; sixth with 129 total bases; eighth with 52 runs scored and a .662 slugging percentage; and ninth with a .466 on-base percentage. His 17 homers (five of which have come in the last six games) are second most in Florida Southern history and his 28 career homers is tied for fourth most for any Moccasin. Reeves is third on the Mocs with a .359 batting average and leads the team with 52 runs scored and 53 RBI. Reeves was a second-team honoree on the 2016 NCBWA All-South Team.

Mauer is 11th in the SSC with 11 home runs, which is third most on the Moccasins. His batting average of .326 is fifth best on the squad and he has driven in 42 runs and has 104 total bases.

Burgess is sixth in the SSC with 30 walks; sixth with 15 stolen bases and 13 home runs; eighth with 49 RBI; and tenth with 51 runs scored. His .329 batting average is fourth on the team and he is second with 51 runs scored, 49 RBI, and 13 home runs. Burgess leads the team with 15 stolen bases. 

Florida Southern will take a 34-15 record into today's 4 p.m. ET game against Delta State in the winners bracket of the NCAA South Region Tournament in Cleveland, Miss. The game will be live streamed and live stats will also be available. 



Player of the Year: Zack Shannon, Delta State, Miss.
Pitcher of the Year: Jake Walsh, Florida Southern
Coach of the Year: Mike Kinnison, Delta State, Miss.

SP: Tyler Joyner, Jr. North Alabama
SP: David Lebron, Jr. Tampa, Fla.
SP: Jake Walsh, Jr. Florida Southern
RP: Cameron Hanes, Sr. Florida Southern
C: Nathan Wierzgac, Sr. Lee, Tenn.
1B: Zack Shannon, Jr. Delta State, Miss.
2B: Jancarlos Cintron, Sr. Nova Southeastern, Fla.
3B: Tyler Curtis, Sr. Lynn, Fla.
SS: Kevin Santa, Sr. Tampa, Fla.
OF: Clay Casey, Jr. Delta State, Miss.
OF: Nick Delgado, Sr. West Alabama
OF: Mitch Reeves, Sr. Florida Southern
DH: Vin Cosenzo, Sr. Tampa, Fla.
UT: Dylan Harris, Jr. Saint Leo, Fla.

SP: Seth Birdsong, Jr. Delta State, Miss.
SP: Hunter Jones, Jr. Valdosta State, Ga.
SP: Will Myers, Sr. Alabama Huntsville
RP: Zach Osbon, Sr. Delta State, Miss.
C: Austin Mauer, Jr. Florida Southern
1B: J.D. Osborne, Sr. Tampa, Fla.
2B: Miguel Ceballos, Sr. Lynn, Fla.
3B: Nolten Milton, So. Union, Tenn.
SS: Armando Valentin, Jr. Benedict, S.C.
OF: Julian Abreu, Sr. Barry, Fla.
OF: Peter Nicoletto, Sr. Rollins, Fla.
OF: Andrew McCoy, Jr. Benedict, S.C.
DH: Brian Lane, Jr. Delta State, Miss.
UT: Dalton Murray, Jr. Valdosta State, Ga.

RP: Caleb Jakes, Jr. Rollins, Fla.
C: Chris Corbett, Sr. Rollins, Fla.
SS: Tanner Burns, Jr. Alabama Huntsville
SS: Pat Dorian, Jr. Lynn, Fla.
OF: Cody Burgess, Jr. Florida Southern
OF: Drake Tucker, Sr. North Alabama
DH: Nick Capra, Sr. Florida Tech
DH: Reeves Brashear, Jr. Miles, Ala.