Women's Lacrosse Garners Five All-America Honors

Women's Lacrosse Garners Five All-America Honors

GRAND LAKE, CO - Florida Southern College women's lacrosse had five different players earn all-America honors from the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association, the IWLCA announced on Friday.

Dani Bursinger, Kendall Kerge, Meghan O'Brien, Emily Santoli and Meghan Vadala were the five Moccasins who earned the honors. O'Brien, Santoli and Kerge earned first-team honors, while Bursinger and Vadala were second-team all-Americans. Each student-athlete was previously named a first team all-Sunshine State Conference selection this year, while Santoli was named the SSC Player of the Year.

O'Brien and Santoli also earned first team all-America honors last year, while Bursinger, Kerge and Vadala earned their first career honors. In all, Florida Southern has had 19 IWLCA all-Americans in the program's six-year history.

This year's five all-Americans tie the 2014 squad for the most in program history, and the three first-team honorees match the number from last year's national title squad. This year's all-Americans have helped the Moccasins to a 20-2 record, the most wins in school history, as well as a third-straight Sunshine State Conference regular-season title and second consecutive SSC Tournament championship.

Florida Southern won its opening game of the NCAA Division II Tournament by defeating Florida Tech in the quarterfinals, and will face No. 3 Lindenwood in Friday's semifinal at Bloomsburg University in Pennsylvania.

Kerge leads the Moccasins and ranks seventh nationally with 67 goals, while O'Brien has scored 55. Santoli has been one of the best all-around players in the nation with 42 goals, 20 assists, 35 ground balls and 24 caused turnovers.

Bursinger led the Sunshine State Conference and ranks fifth in the country in draw controls per game (6.55), while Vadala finished with a team-best 27 caused turnovers.

With a win on Friday, the Moccasins would advance to their second-straight NCAA Championship game with a chance to win Florida Southern's 30th national title.