Women's Lacrosse Earns IWLCA Academic Honors

Women's Lacrosse Earns IWLCA Academic Honors

GRAND LAKE, CO - Florida Southern College women's lacrosse earned an IWLCA Academic Honor Squad award, and 10 different Moccasins were named to the IWLCA Honor Roll, the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association announced on Wednesday. FSC's 10 honorees were the most of any NCAA Division II institution.

In order to be named as an IWLCA Academic Honor quad, a team must maintain a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher for the academic year. Individual student-athletes who are a junior, senior or graduate student are eligible for the IWLCA Honor Roll if they maintain a GPA of 3.50 or better during their career.

Florida Southern has earned five IWLCA Academic Honor squad awards since the program's inception, and this year's total of 10 IWLCA Honor Roll recipients is the most in program history.

The 10 individuals who earned IWLCA Honor Roll accolades were; Austin Brown, Micaela Gately, Katie Gehrdes, Shannon Gilfedder, Taylor Gillis, Meghan O'Brien, Sarah Rheinsmith, Emily Santoli,  Cayla Shawfield and Meghan Vadala.

Gillis also earned the honor as a junior, while the remainder of this year's recipients were first-time honorees.