Five Named to Athletics Hall of Fame

Five Named to Athletics Hall of Fame

LAKELAND, FL - Florida Southern College Athletics will place five new inductees into the FSC Athletics Hall of Fame during its annual Hall of Fame Banquet on Thursday, March 22. This year's class includes three former Moccasin student-athletes, a former head coach, and one honorary inductee.

The five-member class includes former student-athletes Jordan McAfee (volleyball, 2003-06), Mary O'Sullivan (women's swimming, 2011), and Matt Stauch (men's golf, 2007-10), as well as former baseball head coach Pete Meyer (2002-08, 2011-12) and honorary inductee David Jenkins.

Legendary college basketball analyst Dick Vitale will serve as the keynote speaker for the event, which will begin with the unveiling of the Hall of Fame plaques at 6 p.m. in the Clayton & Mary Lee Lyons Athletic Conference Room. Dinner will follow at 7:30 p.m. and Vitale will address those in attendance following dinner. A member of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, Vitale is synonymous with college basketball and is one of the most beloved commentators in the sport.

McAfee was a two-time all-American and all-South Region selection for the Mocs (2005, 2006) who led Florida Southern to four-straight NCAA Tournament appearances. In her four seasons, the Moccasins went 110-35. She is FSC's all-time leader in assists (5,729), was a two-time all-Sunshine State Conference selection and earned two CoSIDA Academic all-District nods. McAfee is the 10th Moccasin volleyball player to be inducted into the Hall of Fame

O'Sullivan was Florida Southern's first-ever national champion in women's swimming, winning the 200-freestyle and 200-backstroke at the 2011 NCAA Championships. She finished as the national runner-up in the 100-backstroke that year and earned seven all-America honors, two as an individual and five as a member of a relay team. O'Sullivan holds seven school records (four individual, three relay), and is the first swimmer, men's or women's, to earn Hall of Fame honors.

Stauch was a three-time all-American at Florida Southern and led the Moccasins to a national title in 2010. He was the SSC Male Athlete and Golfer of the Year in 2010, while also earning a spot on the GCAA all-Nicklaus team. A three-time all-conference selection, Stauch finished third individually at the 2010 NCAA National Championship. He is the 14th men's golfer to earn a Hall of Fame nod.

Meyer coached the Moccasin baseball team to a national championship in 2005 and compiled a record of 308-139-1 over seven seasons at the helm of the program. He earned National Coach of the Year honors in 2005, while also being named South Region and SSC Coach of the Year. Meyer led Florida Southern to six NCAA Tournament appearances, including two South Region titles (2002, 2005) and three runner-up finishes (2003, 2004, 2007). He coached three all-Americans and saw 33 of his former players drafted by Major League Baseball teams during his tenure at Florida Southern. Meyer is the fourth FSC baseball head coach to earn induction into the Hall of Fame.

Jenkins, a majority owner of MLB's San Francisco Giants, has been a major contributor to Moccasin Athletics. Since his involvement with Giants' ownership, San Francisco has won three World Series titles (2010, 2012, 2014). His generosity has helped Florida Southern maintain its status as the top NCAA Division II athletic program in the nation. In addition, his contributions have been crucial in the addition of athletic facilities such as the remodeling of the George Jenkins Field House, development of the Jenkins Clubhouse at Henley Field as well as the procurement of Historic Henley Field for Florida Southern College and the future expansion of the weight room facilities. Mr. Jenkins is also an avid fan of the NHL's Los Angeles Kings.