Florida Southern Captures 2017-18 SSC Men’s and Women’s Mayors’ Cups

Florida Southern Captures 2017-18 SSC Men’s and Women’s Mayors’ Cups

MELBOURNE, FL – Florida Southern College has won the 2017-18 men's and women's Sunshine State Conference Mayors' Cups. The wins mark the 10th time an institution has won both Mayors' Cups in the same academic year.

The SSC first presented the annual Mayors' Cup following the 1986-87 academic year. The all-sports trophy earns its names from the Mayors of communities that were home to SSC member institutions who initially sponsored the award.

Following the sixth Mayors' Cup sweep in school history, Florida Southern continues to lead the league with 14 men's and 12 women's trophies. Rollins College was the last team to take both awards in 2009-10, while the Moccasins previously swept both awards in 2000-01.

Men's Division

Florida Southern amassed 54 points across eight conference sports to win the award for the fourth time this decade. Following the fall and winter sports seasons, the Moccasins sat in first place with 28 points. FSC earned those points with a championship at the cross country, a second-place finish at swimming, third in basketball, and sixth in soccer.

The Moccasins hung on to the overall points lead by scoring the second most points during the Spring season. FSC posted 26 points with a second-place finish at the golf championship and finishing third in the baseball standings, fifth in lacrosse, and seventh in tennis. Florida Southern won its first men's Mayors' Cup 1987-88 and including this year have won it outright 10 times.

Florida Tech and the Saint Leo University tie for second-place with 44.5 points in the final Mayors' Cup standings. Florida Tech earned 22 of their points with a league championship in golf, a second-place finish in lacrosse, and a third-place result at swimming. The Panthers also finished fifth at cross country and in soccer, sixth in baseball, seventh in tennis, and tied for eighth in basketball (Saint Leo).

The Lions scored the best of any team in the Spring sports seasons with 30 points, thanks in large part to a pair of championships in tennis and lacrosse. SLU also placed fourth in baseball and seventh at golf. Saint Leo's second-place finish at the cross country championship was the school's highlight for the fall and winter seasons.

2017-18 Mayors' Cup Men's Division
1. Florida Southern - 54
2. Florida Tech - 44.5
2. Saint Leo - 44.5
4. Nova Southeastern - 39
4. Tampa - 39
6. Palm Beach Atlantic - 36
7. Lynn - 35
8. Barry - 34
8. Rollins - 34
10. Embry-Riddle - 22
11. Eckerd - 20

Women's Division

Florida Southern tallied 66 points across nine sports to win the college's 12th women's Mayors' Cup. The Moccasins had a strong fall and winter with championships in volleyball and basketball. FSC also finished third in soccer and third at swimming, as well as fifth-place at cross country.

The Moccasins captured 25 points in the Spring following a fourth consecutive league championship in lacrosse and a third-place finish in tennis. FSC rounded out the year with a seventh-place finish at the golf championship and was eighth in the softball standings. Florida Southern won its first women's Mayors' Cup in 1987-88, and including this year have won it outright 11 times.

With 59 points, the University of Tampa moves up to second place in the standings after three consecutive seasons in third. UT was a Top-3 finisher in cross country, volleyball, swimming, softball, and lacrosse in 2017-18. The Spartans also finished fifth in soccer, basketball, and rowing as well as seventh in tennis and eighth at golf.

Saint Leo takes third-place with 53.5 points following the three sports seasons. The Lions generated a significant portion of their points with a second-place result at cross country, third-place in volleyball, and fourth-place finishes in tennis and softball.

2017-18 Mayors' Cup Women's Division
1. Florida Southern - 66
2. Tampa - 59
3. Saint Leo - 53.5
4. Nova Southeastern - 51.5
5. Florida Tech - 49.5
6. Barry - 48.5
7. Embry-Riddle - 47
8. Rollins - 41.5
9. Lynn - 40
10. Palm Beach Atlantic - 32
11. Eckerd - 29.5

Mayors' Cup Scoring

Mayors' Cup scoring is based on regular season finish for sports with conference standings and championship finish for cross country, golf, rowing, and swimming. For sports where all schools compete, scoring begins with 11 points awarded for finishing first to one point for finishing 11th. In sports where fewer than 11 teams compete, first place points will be awarded based on the number of teams competing. Head-to-head results will break SSC regular season standings so that points may be assigned. When head-to-head competition cannot break a tie Mayors' Cup points will be split.