Scott Earns NCBWA Honorable Mention All-South Honors

Scott Earns NCBWA Honorable Mention All-South Honors

DALLAS, TX - One week after being named as a second-team all-Sunshine State Conference selection, Florida Southern College baseball's Zach Scott has been named as an all-South Region honorable mention selection by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA).

Scott, who led the Moccasins in runs (42), hits (67), doubles (14), and home runs (8) also batted .327 for the season, the best among any Moc with at least 150 at-bats. In addition, he also tied for the team lead in starts, playing all 50 games at third base for Southern. Scott finished eighth in the SSC in hits, 10th in runs, tied for fourth doubles and 10th in homers.

He finished with a hit in 40 different games this season, with multiple hits in 21 games. Scott posted three or more hits in six contests and drove in at least two runs in 10 different games. He ended the season by reaching base safely in each of the final 16 games of the year and scored a run in 31 different contests. Scott's best performance came when he drove in five runs, scored twice, and a hit a two-run homer in a 17-1 victory over Eckerd on March 16.

In addition to his work with the bat, Scott also shined in the field where he made just five errors in 139 chances. He finished with 53 putouts, 81 assists, and was a part of six double plays.

Scott's selection to the NCBWA all-South Region team marks the sixth year in a row that the Mocs have had at least one NCBWA all-region honoree.

South Region Player of the Year: Yorvis Torrealba - Tampa
South Region Pitcher of the Year: Dillon McCollough - Eckerd
South Region Coach of the Year: Josh Beauregard - Eckerd

2019 NCBWA Division II All-South Region First-Team

Starting Pitcher: Dillon McCollough - Eckerd
Starting Pitcher: Kevin Pimentel - Tampa^
Starting Pitcher: Hunter Riggins - Delta State
Relief Pitcher: Tyler Beck - Tampa
Catcher: Tyler Krabbe - Montevallo
First Base: Blaine Crim - Mississippi College#
Second Base: Jake Barlow - Delta State
Third Base: Josh Broughton - Valdosta State
Shortstop: Daniel Rodriguez - Spring Hill
Outfield: Zach Howard - Embry-Riddle
Outfield: Cade Marlowe - West Georgia
Outfield: Yorvis Torrealba - Tampa
Designated Hitter: Michael Avendano - Shorter
Utility Player: Chris Cabrera - Barry

2019 NCBWA Division II All-South Region Second-Team

Starting Pitcher: Andy Marzhauser - Florida Tech
Starting Pitcher: Dalton Minton - Delta State
Starting Pitcher: Andrew Vaccacio - West Florida
Relief Pitcher: Hugo Casilla - Barry
Catcher: Mitch Calandra - Eckerd
First Base: Logan Taylor - West Georgia
Second Base: Chris O'Neil - Lane
Third Base: Miguel Pimentel - Lee
Shortstop: DJ King - Valdosta State
Outfield: Kevin Bryant - Albany State
Outfield: Garret Hiott - Eckerd
Outfield: Brandon Seltzer - Palm Beach Atlantic
Designated Hitter: Kirk Sidwell - Embry-Riddle
Utility Player: Matthew Estrada - West Florida

2019 NCBWA Division II All-South Region Honorable Mention

Starting Pitcher: Mason Duke - Tampa
Starting Pitcher: Garrett Goodall - Embry-Riddle
Second Base: Jowenrick Daantji - Valdosta State
Third Base: Zach Scott - Florida Southern
Outfield: Bradon O'Connor - Benedict
Outfield: Nolan Ramsey - Alabama-Huntsville
Outfield: Matt Sullivan - West Florida

^ 2018 NCBWA All-South Region Second-Team
# 2018 NCBWA All-South Region Honorable Mention