88 Moccasin Student-Athletes Earn Division II ADA Academic Achievement Awards

88 Moccasin Student-Athletes Earn Division II ADA Academic Achievement Awards

CLEVELAND, Ohio – Florida Southern placed 88 of its student-athletes from the 2013-14 school year on the NCAA Division II Academic Achievement Award sponsored by the Division II Athletic Directors Association (D2ADA) on Friday afternoon.

FSC was one of nine Sunshine State Conference schools to have student-athletes recognized as NCAA Division II ADA Academic Achievement Award winners. In addition, all 19 of FSC's intercollegiate sports are represented by the recipients on this year's list. The Moccasins had the most student-athletes named as Academic Achievement Award winners from the SSC and was tied for ninth overall amongst all Division II institutions recognized with its 88 honorees.

In order to be eligible for the NCAA Division II Academic Achievement Award, a student-athlete has to have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.50, must have completed at least four semesters of college level work and must have been an active member of an intercollegiate team during the 2013-14 academic year.

A total of 155 institutions and a record number of student-athletes (6,950) were recognized for the 2013-14 Academic Achievement Awards. For the second straight year, the Pennsylvania State Athletic Association had 679 student-athletes honored, a record-high for the program, followed by the Great Lakes Valley Conference (GLVC) with 653 student-athletes being recognized and the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) with 632 student-athletes being acknowledged with this award. The SSC had 476 student-athletes recognized.

"As our Association continues to strive to recognize the outstanding student-athletes in our division, we would like to thank and congratulate the institutions that took part in honoring the 2013-14 Academic Achievement Award winners," stated D2ADA President Eric Schoh, director of athletics at Winona State University.  "This award gives the D2 ADA an additional platform to showcase these individuals and their efforts in the classroom, as well as on the playing field."

Listed below are FSC’s D-II Academic Achievement Award recipients for the 2013-14 school year:

Baseball (10) – Austin Barnett, Paul Bretton, Jr., Casey Eskew, Nick Krolczyk, Chris Kyser, Christian Magno, Joey Miller, Ben Richardson, Trey Vavra, Andrew Willinger
Men’s Basketball (3) – Frank Adams, Tyler Logan, Alex McClanahan
Women's Basketball (4) – 
Laura Hackett, Morgan Lamberg, Taylor Maldonado, Ali Sanders
Men's Cross Country/Track (2) – 
David Tomchinsky, Chris Yanichko
Women's Cross Country/Track (2) - Ashley Dudman, Rebecca Levy
Men's Golf (1) – 
Shane Convery
Women's Golf (4) - Kit Creighton, Shannon McKew, Jackie Rajek, Emily Rymer

Men’s Lacrosse (4) – Del Donnelly, Kyle McLaughlin,
Brenden Mykle-Winkler, Clinton Sorrel
Women’s Lacrosse (8) – Marissa Braden, Caitlin Chase, Cassie Crain, Grace Donovan,
Katie Hammerer, Marissa Masello, Taylor Oliver, Ashley Robertson
Men's Soccer (5) – 
Patrick Abrahamson, Petter Allanson, Clay Clingerman, Andreas Hagstrom, Brent Theriault
Women's Soccer (8) - Lindsey Arsenault, Auburn Cherry, Taylor Chitty, Caroline Evers, Christine Knudstrup, 
Jackie Metz, Erin Phillips, Emmalisa Zapfe
Softball (7) – Jordan Alexander, Christie Bailey, Priscilla Gonzalez, Jessica Lanci, Allasyn Lieneck, Chelsea Oglevie, Kylee Stearns

Men's Swimming (5) - Zach Edwards, Robbie Swan, Juan Tolosa, Diego Ulloa, Alec Wathen

Women's Swimming (7) – Abby Boone, Heather Burns, Morgan Burns, Catie Carden, Ali Crenshaw, Kelsey Gouge, Carlee McDonald
Men's Tennis (5) – 
Vladimir Barabash, Nathan Leavitt, Emanuel Lueber, Carl Lundberg, Benoit Paradis
Women's Tennis (7) – Crystal Copeland, Joalis Dominguez, Sabine Goge, Magda Riutort, Olivia Spagnuolo, Victoria Spagnuolo, Laura Wichmann 
Volleyball (6) - Kayshia Brady, Catherine Brusie, Jasmine Childress, Ali Skayhan, Kate Stromberg, Lauren Tekavec  

Click here for the complete list of 2013-14 D2ADA Academic Achievement Award winning schools