More Postseason Honors Roll in for Lawton with NABC Selection

More Postseason Honors Roll in for Lawton with NABC Selection

KANSAS CITY, MO - Florida Southern junior guard Jonathan Lawton has been named as a second-team all-district selection for the South Region, the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced on Friday.

It is the fourth postseason award for Lawton, who was also named as a first team all-Sunshine State Conference selection and earned a spot on the SSC all-newcomer team. He also earned the second team all-South Region accolades from the D2 Conference Commissioner's Association. During the year Lawton was named SSC Player of the Week for the games played from Jan. 29 – Feb. 4.    

Lawton finished the year with 709 points, the most by any Moccasin since Derek Flowers scored 727 during the 1990-91 campaign. His scoring total is the fourth-highest in school history, while his scoring average of 22.2 points per game is tied for the fourth-best all time and is the best since Flowers (22.7) in 1990-91.

A first-team all-Sunshine State Conference selection and SSC all-newcomer honoree, Lawton scored in double figures in 31 of 32 games this season while posting 20 or more points in 22 games this year. He scored at least 30 points five times this year. He also dished out 100 assists and pulled down 137 rebounds.

The NABC Division II All-District Teams are selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC in NCAA Division II. The coaches must be NABC members to be able to nominate and vote players for the All-District Teams, which are split into eight regions that are recognized by the NCAA.

Lawton is joined on the NABC South all-district second team by Kendarius Ash of Lane, Florida Tech's Sam Daniels, David Dennis of Nova Southeastern and Marquill Smith from West Georgia.

The first team NABC South all-district team honorees were Adam Dieball of Christian Brothers, Barry's Elvar Fridiksson, Beau Justice of Valdosta State, Drushaun McLaurn of Eckerd, Darryl Tucker from West Florida and Morehouse's Tyrius Walker.

Morehouse Head coach Grady Brewer was named South Region Coach of the Year.