Lawton Named to Bevo Francis Award Watch List

Lawton Named to Bevo Francis Award Watch List

PARKVILLE, MO - Florida Southern College men's basketball standout Jonathan Lawton has been named to the 2019 Bevo Francis Award Top 100 Watch List, Small College Basketball announced on Tuesday. The award, first given in 2017, recognizes the top men's basketball player at the small-college level, consisting of NCAA Division II and III, NAIA Divisions I and II, the USCAA, and the NCCAA. 

Lawton leads the Sunshine State Conference and ranks 21st nationally in scoring (21.9 ppg) and has scored at least 20 points in 10 different games this season, including an SSC-best 42 in an overtime victory against Lynn on Jan. 5. He is among the top 50 among NCAA Division II players in five other statistical categories.

"This was an extremely difficult process, and I am very thankful to our committee for their input and feedback on many players throughout the country," said Small College Basketball Founder John McCarty. "When we look out over the landscape of small college basketball, we're trying to find the best of the best, based on our criteria, out of about 1,100 - 1,200 colleges and universities.

"As such, it's a real honor to be included on this prestigious list. Each of the players on this list is in the midst of a heck of a season, and I congratulate each and every one of them."

Members of the Bevo Francis Award committee include the following coaches: Tobin Anderson - St. Thomas Aquinas (N.Y.), Gerald Holmes - Bloomfield (N.J.), Gary Stewart - Stevenson (Md.), Arlen Galloway - Wentworth (Mass.), Chris Briggs - Georgetown (Ky.), Bill Dreikosen - Rocky Mountain (Mont.), Klint Pleasant - Rochester (Mich.), Ryan Kane - Ripon (Wisc.), Mark Berokoff – Hillsdale Baptist (Okla.), Mike Donnelly – Florida Southern, Rhett Soliday – Vanguard (Calif.), Sam Hargraves – Alma (Mich.), Greg Mason – Centre (Ky.) and Ryan Looney – Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.).

The committee chose this elite group from over 1,100 colleges and universities and took into consideration individual statistics, previous awards, milestones and team success.

On February 15, SCB will publish the next Watch List with 50 players. The list will be narrowed down to 25 players in a Watch List published on March 15. The finalists will be announced in a highlight video that will be released on April 6.

The 2019 Bevo Francis Award winner will be announced on April 8. The award will be presented to the award winner on May 11 at the SCB National Awards Show in conjunction with the SCB Alumni Association's Celebration of the Game event at the Crowne Plaza in downtown Kansas City, Missouri.

Small College Basketball is very grateful to the University of Rio Grande and Sheward-Fulks Insurance for their sponsorship and support of the Bevo Francis award.

To view all 100 players on today's Watch List, please click HERE.