Lawton, Hanson Named to NABC All-District Team

Lawton, Hanson Named to NABC All-District Team

KANSAS CITY, MO - Florida Southern College men's basketball standouts Jonathan Lawton and Brett Hanson have been named as NABC all-district selections, the National Association of Basketball Coaches announced on Monday. Lawton was a first-team selection for the South District, while Hanson earned second-team honors. The duo formed one of the top backcourts in all of Division II basketball, helping to lead the Moccasins to a 25-8 record and a Sunshine State Conference Tournament title.

The Mocs advanced to the NCAA South Regional semifinals for the second year in a row and defeated three ranked opponents during the season, including then-No. 3 Nova Southeastern in the SSC Tournament championship game. Both Lawton and Hanson eclipsed 1,000 career points this past season, with Lawton averaging a team-best 22.5 points per game and Hanson averaging 17.9 ppg.

Lawton was the SSC Player of the Year, the D2CCA South Region Player of the Year, and one of 25 finalists for the Bevo Francis Award as the top non-Division I men's basketball player in the country. Hanson was a second-team all-SSC and D2CCA all-region selection and earned SSC Tournament MVP honors after averaging 20.7 points and 8.7 rebounds per game during the SSC Tournament.

A second-team all-district selection a year ago, Lawton has been selected to play in the Reese's Division II All-Star Game on March 29 at the Ford Center in Evansville, IN, the site of this year's Division II Elite Eight.


First Team
Tommy Bolte, Concord
Dalton Bolon, West Liberty
Jacobo Diaz, IUP
Amir Hinton, Shaw
Anthony Lee, Kutztown
Will Vorhees, Notre Dame

Second Team
Jamere Howze, Virginia State
Dante Lombardi, IUP
Roger Ray, Livingstone
Micah Till, Slippery Rock
Josh Williams, East Stroudsburg

Co-Coaches of the Year: Lonnie Blow Jr., Virginia State and Joe Lombardi, IUP

First Team
Kevin Buckingham, Southeastern Oklahoma
Ryan Bruggeman, Southwest Minnesota State
Gage Davis, St. Cloud
Trevor Hudgins, Northwest Missouri State
Cam Martin, Missouri Southern State
Joey Witthus, Northwest Missouri State

Second Team
Javion Blake, Washburn
Brandon Myer, UM Duluth
Harrison Cleary, UM Crookston
Jhonathan Dunn, Southern Nazarene
Ian Smith, Northern State

Coach of the Year: Ben McCollum, Northwest Missouri State

First Team
Elijah Bailey, New Haven
Tim Guers, Saint Anselm
Juvaris Hayes, Merrimack
Isaiah McLeod, Southern Connecticut
Ryan Richmond, Bentley
Andrew Sischo, Daemen

Second Team
DaQuaise Andrews, Southern New Hampshire
Kavione Green, Bloomfield
Bryan Griffin, Mercy
Jermaine Head, Wilmington
Curtis Jenkins, Molloy

Coach of the Year: Mike MacDonald, Daemen

First Team
Adam Eberhard, Bellarmine
Dyllon Hudson-Emory, Davenport
Kendale McCullum, Lewis
Drew Noble, Ashland
Alex Stein, Southern Indiana
Alex White Findlay

Second Team
Delaney Blaylock, Lewis
Conley Garrison, Drury
Isaiah Johnson, Northern Michigan
JT Shumate, Walsh
Brodric Thomas, Truman State

Coach of the Year: Scott Trost, Lewis

First Team
David Dennis, Nova Southeastern
Adam Dieball, Christian Brothers
Beau Justice, Valdosta State
Johnathan Lawton, Florida Southern
Mark Matthews, Nova Southeastern
Marquill Smith, West Georgia

Second Team
Mike Baez, Lynn
Brett Hanson, Florida Southern
LaJuan Hardy, West Alabama
Joe Laravie, Christian Brothers
DruShaun McLaurn, Eckerd

Coach of the Year: Mike Helfer, Valdosta State

First Team
Brennan Fowler, Lubbock Christian
Qua Grant, West Texas A&M
Connor Nichols, Colorado Mesa
Ben Sonnefeld, Colorado School of Mines
Willie Rooks, Texas A&M Commerce
Ashton Spears, St. Edward's
Ryan Quaid, West Texas A&M

Second Team
Jarrett Brodbeck, Regis
Ben Clare, Colorado School of Mines
Gerad Davis, New Mexico Highlands
Chandler Jacobs, Dallas Baptist

Coach of the Year: Andre Cook, St. Edward's

First Team
DaQuan Abram, Belmont Abbey
Kendrick Colvin, Emmanuel
Ty'Lik Evans, USC Aiken
Brandon Parker, Francis Marion
Shaun Willett, Queens
Deane Williams, Augusta

Second Team
Daniel Carr, Queens
Marco Haskins, Wingate
Akia Pruitt, UNC Pembroke
Taylor, Cornelius, Lincoln Memorial
Jameel Taylor, Catawba

Coach of the Year: Bart Lundy, Queens

First Team
Adonis Arms, Northwest Nazarene
Luke Chavez, St. Martin's
Will Christmas, Cal Poly Pomona
Grant Dressler, Chaminade
Chris Hansen, UCSD
Daulton Hommes, Point Loma Nazarene

Second Team
Juwan Anderson, Cal State East Bay
Christian Bayne, UCSD
Brian Chambers, Concordia
Trevor Jasinsky, Western Washington
Coleman Wooten, Seattle Pacific

Coach of the Year: Bryan Rooney, Cal State East Bay

About the National Association of Basketball Coaches
Located in Kansas City, MO, the NABC was founded in 1927 by Forrest "Phog" Allen, the legendary basketball coach at the University of Kansas. Allen, a student of James Naismith, the inventor of basketball, organized coaches into this collective group to serve as Guardians of the Game. The NABC currently has nearly 5,000 members consisting primarily of university and college men's basketball coaches. All members of the NABC are expected to uphold the core values of being a Guardian of the Game by bringing attention to the positive aspects of the sport of basketball and the role coaches play in the academic and athletic lives of today's student-athletes. The four core values of being a Guardian of the Game are advocacy, leadership, service and education. Additional information about the NABC, its programs and membership, can be found at www.nabc.org.