Men's Golf MVP Honor Goes to John VanDerLaan

Men's Golf MVP Honor Goes to John VanDerLaan

Senior John VanDerLaan, the NCAA Division II Individual National Champion, has been named the Florida Southern men's golf MVP as selected by retired head coach Doug Gordin, who stepped down following the conclusion of the Moccasins' 2017-18 season. Gordin, who won six NCAA National Championships at Florida Southern is succeeded by longtime assistant coach Lee White.

VanDerLaan spent the majority of 2017-18 as GolfStat's No. 1 ranked player, on the Golf Coaches Association of America's (GCAA) No. 1 ranked team in Division II. Florida Southern squad finished first in four tournaments and entered the NCAA match play finals as the No. 1 seed following stroke play. VanDerLaan, himself, won seven tournaments this past season, including the NCAA South Super Regional and National Championship. He saved his best performance for last, shooting a season-best 199 (66-68-65) to finish 17-under at the NCAA finals. A record for the stroke play championship.

Along with his seven victories, the Southbury, Connecticut native registered nine top-five and 13 top-10 finishes during his 2017-18 run. He also recorded a national-best 69.05 scoring average, becoming the first Moccasin to turn in a sub-70 average. In the annual GolfStat Cup competition, which takes into account a variety of statistical accomplishments, VanDerLaan was ranked No. 6 among all golfers at every level of collegiate golf. The five golfers head of him in the poll were all from Division I programs.

VanDerLaan's myriad of postseason honors include: Jack Nicklaus Award recipient as NCAA Division II Golfer of the Year; GCAA All-America 1st Team; CoSIDA Academic All-America At-Large 1st Team; GCAA All-South Team; CoSIDA Men's At-Large Academic All-Region 1st Team; SSC Male Athlete of the Year; SSC Player of the Year; All-SSC 1st Team; SSC Golfer of the Week (10/23/17; 11/06/17; 3/12/18; 4/09/18); and SSC Commissioner's Honor Roll.


  • Baseball - Logan Browning
  • Men's Basketball - Jonathan Lawton
  • Women's Basketball - Anja Fuchs-Robetin
  • Beach Volleyball - Lauren Kenny
  • Men's Cross Country - Bobby Ormsby
  • Women's Cross Country - Hannah Nelson
  • Equestrian - Shona Whitfield
  • E-Sports - Wil Fisackerly
  • Men's Golf - John VanDerLaan
  • Women's Golf - July 13
  • Men's Lacrosse - July 16
  • Women's Lacrosse - July 17
  • Men's Soccer - July 18
  • Women's Soccer - July 19
  • Softball - July 20
  • Men's Swimming - July 23
  • Women's Swimming - July 24
  • Men's Tennis - July 25
  • Women's Tennis - July 26
  • Men's Track - July 27
  • Women's Track - July 30
  • Volleyball - July 31
  • Men's Water Ski - August 1
  • Women's Water Ski - August 2