Moccasins' McGregor Voted SSC Men's Cross Country Freshman-of-the-Year

Moccasins' McGregor Voted SSC Men's Cross Country Freshman-of-the-Year

MELBOURNE – Moccasin Dean McGregor has been voted the 2015 Sunshine State Conference Men's Cross Country Freshman-of-the-Year as announced today by the league office.

Voting for the All-SSC Men's Cross Country Team was done by the league cross country head coaches.

McGregor is the fourth Moccasin to be named the SSC Freshman-of-the-Year joining Robert Ormsby (2013), Chris Yanichko (2010) and Eric Larson (2008).

A native of Fort Myers, Fla., McGregor finished 16th at the 2015 Sunshine State Conference Championship held Oct. 24 at Lakeland's Holloway Park with a time of 26:16.1 over the 8,000 meter course and was the Moccasins' top finisher at the UF Mountain Dew and Florida State Invitationals. McGregor made his collegiate debut at the UF Mountain Dew Invitational and took eighth place with an 8K time of 25:57.58. At the FSU Invitational, he was 11th with a 26:09.2 time over the 8K course.

McGregor took fourth place at the Moccasin Invitational with a 27:16.3 time in the 8K race in his only other meet of the season.

Saint Leo and Nova Southeastern each placed three runners on the 2015 All-SSC Men's Cross Country team with Saint Leo's Valentin Lenz, who won the SSC Championship this year after placing second in each of the previous two seasons, was named the SSC Runner of the Year. He is the third straight Lion to be named the Runner of the Year (Niclas Bez, 2014, and Carl Dunne, 2013).

The rest of the seven-person All-SSC team included Saint Leo's Bez and Rafal Matuszczak; Nova Southeastern's Christian Oppel, Benjamin Manuel, and Wade White; and Tampa's Tyler Blackburn.

Saint Leo's first-year head coach, Kent Reiber, was voted by his peers as the SSC Men's Coach of the Year after leading the Lions to their second consecutive league title.

The Moccasins will run this Saturday, Nov. 7, at the NCAA South Regional Championship at The Abbey Golf Course in Saint Leo, Fla. The men's race will take place at 10:15 a.m. Florida Southern won the last two regional titles in 2013 and 2014.