McGregor Places 13th as Mocs Finish Fifth at NCAA South Regional

McGregor Places 13th as Mocs Finish Fifth at NCAA South Regional

SAINT LEO – Freshman Dean McGregor completed the NCAA South Region Championship in a time of 33:31.12 to finish in 13th place as Florida Southern placed fifth out of 14 teams here at The Abbey Golf Course. The fifth place finish in the 10,000-meter race, snaps the Moccasins' two-year reign as South Region champions.

McGregor, the Sunshine State Conference Freshman of the Year, will now add All-South honors to his resume as the Top 25 finishers earn such recognition by the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association of America. 

The regional marks the third time McGregor was been the first Moccasin to cross the finish line and the fifth time he has finished as one of Florida Southern's top two runners.

This was the first 10K race of the season for the Moccasins, which have run 8K's in all previous races.

Senior Kyle Butler was the second Moccasin finisher, taking 27th place out of 93 runners with a 34:45.89 time in just the second 10K of his collegiate career. Senior Anthony Pollizzi was next Florida Southern runner, placing 30th with a 35:03.51 time in his first collegate 10K.

Senior Jose Perez came in 33rd for the Moccasins, completing his fifth collegiate 10K with a 35:17.96 time while freshman Everett Wagner was next, posting a time of 35:51.46 to finish in 40th place. Rounding out the Moccasins' was junior Cody Van Natter, who completed the course in 37:44.65 to take 59th place.

The top three runners in the 10K race were not members of the top three finishing teams. Shorter's Alfred Chelanga took top honors with a time of 32:00.98 while West Alabama's Victor Onyaga was second with a 32:12.17 time. Rounding out the top three was Dessie Demlew of Benedict came in with a 32:23.39 time.

Saint Leo, which won the 2015 SSC Championship, won the Regional Championship with 78 teams points followed by Lee (Tenn.) with 85 points, Nova Southeastern with 110, Alabama-Huntsville with 111, and Florida Southern with 132.

The second top five included West Florida (141); West Alabama (168), Florida Tech (198), Union (207), and Benedict (223). The final four teams were North Alabama (247), Valdosta State (290), Christian Brothers (301), and West Georgia (341).