Moccasins Earn Six Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Honors

Moccasins Earn Six Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Honors

MELBOURNE, FL - Florida Southern College women's lacrosse earned six all-conference awards from the Sunshine State Conference, the league office announced on Thursday afternoon. The Moccasins, who won their fourth-straight SSC regular-season title, will face No. 4 seed Rollins on Friday at 5:30 p.m. in the semifinals of the SSC Tournament at Moccasin Field. Meghan O'Brien, Sam Keesey, and Emily Santoli each earned first-team accolades, while Dani Bursinger, Marina Jozokos, and Sarah Rheinsmith were named as second-team selections.

O'Brien earns her third straight first-team honors after leading the Mocs in total points (66) and assists (34) during the regular season. She ranks eighth in the SSC and 82nd nationally in points per game (4.13) and is third in the conference and 27th in the country in assists per game (2.13). She has tallied multiple goals in 10 different games this year and recorded three or more assists in seven different contests. O'Brien is just the second player in school history with 100 career goals and 100 career assists.

Keesey is a first-time all-conference honoree after leading the Moccasins in caused turnovers (26) and ranking third in draw controls (61). She is sixth in the SSC and 52nd in the nation in caused turnovers per game (1.86) and sixth in the conference and 77th in the country in draw controls per game (4.36). Keesey also has drawn the task of man-marking the oppositions best offensive player in nearly every game this year, helping the Mocs rank first in the conference and eighth in the country in scoring defense (7.83 gpg).

Santoli earns her third consecutive first-team nod after leading Florida Southern in goals (53) and ranking second in total points (61) during the regular season. She also leads the team in draw controls (69) and is second in ground balls (35) while forcing 19 turnovers on the defensive side of the ball. Santoli ranks among the top 100 nationally in eight different statistical categories and is on the watch list for the Tewaaraton Award, given annually to the nation's top player regardless of the NCAA Division in which they play.

Bursinger, a first-team all-SSC selection last year, is second on the squad in draw controls (63) and has tallied 24 goals and nine assists. She scored five goals and recorded two assists in Florida Southern's win over No. 1 Adelphi on Feb. 17, and has helped the Mocs to a No. 2 national ranking in draw controls per game (19.17).

Jozokos earns all-conference honors in her first year with Florida Southern after transferring from Limestone. In her first season with the Mocs, Jozokos has scored 30 goals and tallied seven assists while grabbing a team-leading 44 groundballs. She has also tallied 22 draw controls this year. 

Rheinsmith is a first-time all-conference selection after notching 14 caused turnovers and 20 groundballs. She also scored her first career goal this season as a defender. The Moccasins rank second in the country in scoring margin (10.89) and are among the top 40 nationally in four different major defensive categories.

The Moccasins are seeking their third-straight SSC Tournament title, and would face either Florida Tech or Tampa in Sunday's championship game should they defeat Rollins on Friday. The SSC Championship contest is set for a noon start at Moccasin Field.

Player of the Year: Lauren Tybor, Florida Tech
Freshman of the Year: Bridget Sutter, Tampa
Coach of the Year: Kelly Gallagher, Tampa

2018 All-SSC Women's Lacrosse First Team
Attack Kallie German*~& Rollins Jr.
Attack Meghan O'Brien*~ Florida Southern Sr.
Attack Caroline Dunleavy*+ Florida Tech Sr.
Attack Sara Grenier*~• Florida Tech Sr.
Attack Rachel Crawford Tampa Jr.
Midfield Lauren Tybor^@ Florida Tech So.
Midfield Emily Santoli*#† Florida Southern Sr.
Midfield Sam Schiano^~ Florida Tech Jr.
Midfield McKenzie Jackson Embry-Riddle Fr.
Defense Lindsey Van Beck*~ Rollins Jr.
Defense Sam Keesey Florida Southern Jr.
Defense Alexa Scudillo Tampa So.
Defense Olivia Going* Florida Tech So.
Goalie Bridget Sutter Tampa Fr.
2018 All-SSC Women's Lacrosse Second Team
Attack Hannah Ashton^ Rollins So.
Attack Mya Watson Embry-Riddle Fr.
Attack Leslie Ferguson Saint Leo Jr.
Midfield Dani Bursinger* Florida Southern Jr.
Midfield Claire Swanson^ Tampa So.
Midfield Mary Gormley*+† Florida Tech Sr.
Midfield Lily Rizk^ Rollins So.
Midfield Marina Jozokos Florida Southern So.
Defense Brittney Embree Florida Tech Jr.
Defense Haley Heggblod^+ Florida Tech Sr.
Defense Kaitlin Prince Rollins Jr.
Defense Sarah Rheinsmith Florida Southern Sr.
Defense Amanda Coppolo^ Saint Leo Gr.
Goalie Malorie Olin^~†Δ Rollins Sr.
Goalie Stephanie Stuart*~ Florida Tech Sr.

* = 2017 First Team
^ = 2017 Second Team
# = 2017 Player of the Year
@ = 2017 Freshman of the Year
~ = 2016 First Team
+ = 2016 Second Team
& = 2016 Freshman of the Year
• = 2015 First Team
† = 2015 Second Team
Δ = 2015 Co-Freshman of the Year
1 Tybor was named Freshman of the Year in 2017
2 Allie Modica (Florida Tech) earned Player of the Year in 2016
3 UT was ranked No. 23 on February 26th. They ended the year at No. 16.
4 The Spartans earned the No. 3 seed